Rain

The brief for this exercise is to produce a single image that can be used as a cover shot to illustrate rain.

Like the previous exercise I had an idea in mind that, in execution, did not work out as well as I had hoped.  The idea was to shoot a local church through the windscreen when it was raining  but, on the couple of times I went to shoot, the BBC’s promise of “heavy showers” failed to materialise, so the effect I wanted was not there:-

 

DSC05898

The heavy showers did however occur later and, serendipity like, while going upstairs I saw the streaks of light on our landing window and liked the effect.  I set up the camera, on a tripod, and made a long exposure of some 25 seconds at f22.  I am quite pleased with the resultant shot and it sort of reminds me a bit of Saul Leiter’s work.

DSC05902

High Brooms in the rain from the window.

Leave a Reply

